Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

The time of the season dictates that I make a blog post, and I opt for a more poetic title this time than ‘September Update’.

September is one of the most beautiful times of the year – the brightest of the ’embers’. A succession of blinding, dramatic sunsets – apocalyptic winds – sudden, unexpected summer sunshine and the beginnings of the ‘golden gown’ of Autumn wrapping around the trees and plants.

I’m still navigating a writing limbo at the moment, although I have some goals mapped out now to make the dance pattern easier. I’ve always had two left feet. My current work in progress is, well, a number of things. I have nothing new at the actual writing-of-words stage, but I do have three or four projects clamouring for my attention – some louder than others. Mostly I’m trying to continue the revision and rewriting of my un-submitted short stories, which is becoming a variably joyful and depressing task. Some are reading very well after all this time, and I’m hopeful about their chances, but others covered in dust and scabs and crap that I’m going to have to peel off, which is likely to leave them in a state requiring serious repair.

I also finally intend to relaunch an attack on ‘The Gardener’ after all this time, and finally sort it into something that I can feasibly submit to agents. It has to be done. All that writing can’t go to waste just yet – not until it’s been given as much of a chance in the world as it deserves. I just need to limber up for the task first.

I have out in the wild at the moment, four stories. One as a reprint, and two out of the other three, I have been informed by kind editors, are under serious further consideration. So there is a pot of excitement simmering away, but I can’t allow myself to be caught in the act of pot-watching.

Currently reading – ‘The Year of the Flood‘ by Margaret Atwood, which I am enjoying immensely. Also in progress is the latest Interzone – #230, which is as enjoyable as always. Not finished the magazine yet, but I particularly enjoyed Tim Lees‘ ‘Love and War‘.