Tags

, , , , , , ,

Despite my claims to be a writer of some twenty odd years of aspiration, I still feel like a beginner half the time. Until last year I had never even submitted anything professionally and with every story I feel that I learn something new about either the mechanics of writing; the protocol of critique; or the dark labyrinth of submission.

So I’m always on the lookout for some genuine advice from those who know what they are talking about. Apex Magazine not only provide a great read every month in terms of free short fiction and articles, but their blog is a nice source of news and tips.

Check out this article interviewing senior book editor Deb Taber – http://writingraw.com/files/7%20Question%20Interview%20with%20Deb%20Taber.pdf

And this blog article by Michael A. Burstein who guest edited the current (April) issue of Apex – http://www.apexbookcompany.com/blog/2009/04/thoughts-on-professionalism-and-guest-editing/

Some fascinating and extremely helpful insights into the processes behind editing short fiction submissions. I would love to get a story into Apex. I have only submitted one, but it wasn’t at all right for them. Dark SF is not the genre I am really writing in at the moment, although I have plenty of ideas. As soon as I have the right story, I’ll try again.