Tags

, , , , ,

New Year’s Day. And a Happy Hogmanay to all!

This is one of my favourite days of the year. There is something so clean and cathartic about New Year’s Day. No more countdowns – to Christmas – to midnight. Just the fresh year opening up in front of you, fertile and promising. Although, most people will be viewing it through the haze of hangover and with questions like: did I really do that last night?

I thought I would use the spirit of New Year’s resolutions to make a statement of intent for this blog (and for my own writing as well). This is a blog about writing; for news about my own writing and for news about various competitions and other things to do with the world of writing. I need to keep it focussed on that and go off on too many tangents – otherwise I should begin writing a second blog, and there’s only so many hours in the day.

So, this blog is really about my attempts to scratch out a career as a writer – mainly of speculative fiction at the moment as that seems to be the form that I find it easiest to express myself in. Last year, from March 2008 when I began writing again in earnest, I wrote (and completed) 13 short stories and 1 piece of micro-fiction(just to see if I could do it). 4 stories have been accepted for publication and 8 are submitted at the moment. I also wrote 20,000 words of a novel that I’ve since shelved after it ground sluggishly to a halt – although the story elements formed the basis for my short story ‘Chasing Memories’ which I currently have submitted to Black Static. More promisingly, I am still working on an apocalyptic novella, current title: ‘The Gardener’; current word count – 22,341 and going strong. I anticipate it to be a maximum of about 40,000 words and I’m enjoying writing it, which is the important thing.

I will continue with the short stories once I am finished, and I hope to have, let’s say, 10 published this year. I would be thrilled with that quite honestly.

So, here’s to the New Year. Here’s hoping it’s a fruitful one.